Major Brands with Big plans: How UK and French business are accelerating to success

 

This 6th event of the Cercle International of X-PM was held on June 23, 2021, both in person at the Franco-British Chamber of Commerce in Paris and by videoconference, bringing together many international leaders from Europe and Asia.
The rich presentations and debate converge on three topics: the acceleration of transformations, the preponderant role now played by new digital technologies and the strong need to adapt human resources to the ongoing changes.

 

 

Acceleration of change

No surprise, the pandemic is considered to be responsible for unprecedented transformations, which were mostly anticipated, but within a longer period of time:  “the changes of the last 18 months were expected over a period of 5 to 7 years”. More than an evolution, it is a “reset” in areas where transformations also integrate changes in customer expectations and behavior, ESG objectives, and the risks of new protectionist standards.

 

Preponderant role of digital technologies

The involvement of companies in the use of new technologies is said to have doubled over the last 18 months, particularly in e-commerce and the use of the cloud. Interacting with the customer is revolutionized. Every “classic” company is to become technological and make an extensive use of “data”, artificial intelligence, social networks, as well as tech enabled touchpoints to anticipate and serve personalized customer needs.

 

Adaptation of human resources

Adapting human resources to the changes taking place has never been more important; stakeholders emphasize:
-The “sense of purpose” as the company’s flag,
-The need to work hard on diversity and international inclusion,
-The need for modern corporate communication that integrates technological, environmental and societal aspects so as to attract new talent,
-The creation of ecosystems of partners that leverage innovation. In China, 60,000 or so innovative start-ups could be integrated into such ecosystems.

 

Another word on China, now both the world’s largest trader and the largest investor, on a par with the United States in terms of innovation; its markets and resources cannot be ignored. It is necessary to be present locally, to integrate local talents and innovation. It is also advisable to target Chinese companies as customers as they expand outside China, and partner with them to export all over the world starting with Asia. A new way to be global !

 

Replay of the conference

Major Brands with Big plans: How UK and French business are accelerating to success

 

Ce sixième événement du Cercle International X-PM se tient le 23 juin 2021 à la fois en présentiel à la Chambre de Commerce Franco-Britannique à Paris ainsi qu’en visioconférence, réunissant de nombreux responsables internationaux en Europe et en Asie.
Les interventions d’une grande richesse font apparaître une convergence sur trois sujets : l’accélération des transformations, le rôle prépondérant joué par les technologies nouvelles dans les différents métiers et le fort besoin d’adapter les ressources humaines aux évolutions en cours.

 

 

Accélération des transformations

Sans surprise, la pandémie est jugée responsable de transformations de grande ampleur, qui certes étaient le plus souvent anticipées ou en cours, mais « les changements des 18 derniers mois étaient attendus sur une période de 5 à 7 ans ». Davantage qu’une évolution c’est d’un « reset » qu’il s’agit dans les domaines où les transformations doivent également intégrer les modifications d’attentes et de comportement des clients, les objectifs ESG, ainsi que de nouveaux risques liés à la protection de certains marchés.

 

Rôle prépondérant des nouvelles technologies

L’implication des entreprises dans l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies a généralement doublé sur les 18 derniers mois notamment en matière d’e-commerce ou d’utilisation du « cloud » et modifie désormais tant les processus que la façon prioritaire d’interférer avec le client. Toute entreprise « classique » est appelée à devenir technologique et à faire une utilisation extensive de la « data », de l’intelligence artificielle, des réseaux sociaux, et de toute forme de point de rencontre technologique pour aller au devant des besoins, et à la rencontre de ses clients.

 

Adaptation des ressources humaines

L’adaptation des ressources humaines aux changements en cours n’a jamais été aussi importante ; les intervenants insistent sur :
– Le « sense of purpose » comme drapeau de l’entreprise,
– Un travail de grande ampleur sur la diversité et l’inclusion internationale,
– Le besoin d’une communication d’entreprise moderne intégrant les aspects technologiques, environnementaux et sociétaux, qui attire les nouveaux talents,
– La nécessité de créer des écosystèmes de partenaires démultipliant l‘innovation. En Chine, 60 000 jeunes pousses innovantes seraient aujourd’hui intégrables dans de tels écosystèmes.

 

Un mot encore sur la Chine, désormais à la fois le plus grand commerçant et le plus grand investisseur mondial, à égalité en matière d’innovation avec les Etats-Unis, dont les marchés, et les ressources ne peuvent pas être passées sous silence. Il convient d’être présent localement, d’y intégrer les talents locaux et de cibler comme clients les entreprises Chinoises internationales sur leurs marchés hors Chine, avec la volonté d’exporter dans le monde entier en commençant par l’Asie. Une nouvelle façon d’être global !

 

Voir l’intégralité de la conférence

 


Nos derniers articles